Home Articles Reader Opinion Editorial Book Reviews Discussion Writers Guide About TCRecord
transparent 13
Topics
Discussion
Announcements

Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach: The Power of Dialogue in Educating Adults


reviewed by Peter Rushbrook — 2003

coverTitle: Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach: The Power of Dialogue in Educating Adults
Author(s): Jane Vella
Publisher: Jossey-Bass Publishers, San Francisco
ISBN: 0787959677, Pages: 263, Year: 2002 (revised edition)
Search for book at Amazon.com

Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach: The Power of Dialogue in Educating Adults is Jane Vella’s welcome revision of her 1994 adult education classic of the same name. Malcolm Knowles writes in the Foreword (p. vii), that, ‘You will enjoy reading this book so much that you may wonder whether your are learning anything from it.’ He is right. Vella’s fifty years’ experience as a global adult educator, her possession of an intellect effortlessly combining educational theory and practice, and her natural story-telling ability, have produced not only an important work for adult education practitioners and researchers, but also one that is highly accessible and entertaining. Moreover, Vella’s book is not one merely for reflection and challenge, in the nature of many academic tomes, but one for empowering the powerless through practical political action in the vein of Knowles and Paulo Freire, her oft-quoted mentors and collaborators. While I approached with caution the ‘addition’ to this new edition of the principles of quantum physics as a ‘means of... (preview truncated at 150 words.)


To view the full-text for this article you must be signed-in with the appropropriate membership. Please review your options below:

Sign-in
Email:
Password:
Store a cookie on my computer that will allow me to skip this sign-in in the future.
Send me my password -- I can't remember it
 
Purchase this Article
Purchase Learning to Listen, Learning to Teach: The Power of Dialogue in Educating Adults
Individual-Resource passes allow you to purchase access to resources one resource at a time. There are no recurring fees.
$12
Become a Member
Online Access
With this membership you receive online access to all of TCRecord's content. The introductory rate of $25 is available for a limited time.
$25
Print and Online Access
With this membership you receive the print journal and free online access to all of TCRecord's content.
$210


Cite This Article as: Teachers College Record Volume 105 Number 7, 2003, p. 1179-1181
http://www.tcrecord.org ID Number: 11129, Date Accessed: 10/23/2017 9:37:33 AM

Purchase Reprint Rights for this article or review
Article Tools
Related Articles

Related Discussion
 
Post a Comment | Read All

About the Author
  • Peter Rushbrook
    Charles Sturt University (Wagga Wagga, Australia)
    E-mail Author
    PETER RUSHBROOK is a Senior Lecturer and Vocational Education and Training (VET) Coordinator in the School of Education at Charles Sturt University (Wagga Wagga Campus), Australia. Before beginning a second career as a university academic he worked for twenty-five years as a junior technical schoolteacher, adult educator, and workplace trainer. His research interests include adult learning in the workplace, the history of Australian adult education, VET policy development, and VET curriculum construction. He has recently completed a project on workplace learning in the New South Wales Police and is currently engaged on a collaborative project exploring the historical construction of the ‘good worker.’
Member Center
In Print
This Month's Issue

Submit
EMAIL

Twitter

RSS